Review of the Month: March 2022

Review of the Month: March 2022

April 4, 2022

Announcements

We have closed our Series B funding round of US$88 million, led by Animoca Brands and Liberty City Ventures. Participants in the round included Ripple, Terra, Morgan Creek, Primavera Venture Partners, LeadBlock Partners, Eterna Capital, Sino Global Capital, Topaz, and Adrian Cheng (CEO of Hong Kong real estate giant New World Development).

Read more

We have completed the SOC 2® - SOC for Service Organizations: Trust Services Criteria assessment conducted by Deloitte. This affirms that Hex Trust’s information security practices, policies, procedures, and operations meet the rigorous standards for security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality, and privacy. 

Read more

In the Media

Bloomberg: Animoca, Ripple Back Crypto Custodian at $300 Million Value

Coindesk: Hex Trust Raises $88M for Crypto Custody, Focusing on Gaming Sector

The Block: Crypto Custodian Hex Trust Raises $88 Million in Series B Funding

Blockworks: Hex Trust Raises $88M in Series B To Expand into Europe, Middle East

Our Managing Director, Calvin Shen, was invited on Ausbiz TV for an interview on the transitioning nature of digital asset custody and Hex Trust’s recent expansion into the metaverse. 

Watch the Interview

In the Community

On March 11 2022, The Hong Kong Venture Capital Asia (HKVCA) invited our CEO Alessio Quaglini, alongside Animoca Brands, Cyberport Hong Kong and Talon E-Sports to the HKVCA Asia Venture Capital Forum 2022. The discussion took place around the most popular topics of late: the metaverse, The Sandbox, cryptocurrencies and NFTs. 

On March 17 2022, Citi hosted the Asia Pacific Securities Leadership Forum 2022, bringing together key players in the digital asset custody space to provide a comprehensive view on the future of custody. Our CEO Alessio Quaglini joined the panel discussion alongside speakers from Coinbase APAC, Fidelity Digital Assets and Citi to walk through the custody ecosystem, its platforms, instruments and infrastructures, covering a range of topics including cryptocurrencies, tokenization efforts and NFTs.

Hosted by SatoshiWomen, our Head of Customer Success, Giorgia Pellizzari was invited to speak at “A journey into the world of Terra and LUNA!” to provide a comprehensive overview of the Terra ecosystem including Anchor Protocol and Mirror Protocol.

We attended ETHDubai alongside our trusted partner Klaytyn, in preparation of our new Middle East Headquarters opening in Dubai. We are in the process of opening our new office and obtaining a license. Stay tuned for updates! 

Insights

Celo is a carbon-negative, Layer-1 protocol with a rich ecosystem of global partners building Web3 applications in support of their mission to create a more inclusive, accessible global financial system. With our recent partnership, we hope to support Celo on its mission and any further collaboration opportunities. 

Read more

Clare Lee
Clare Lee
Marketing Analyst
More from Hex Trust
The BAYC Universe: Expanding into Metaversal Economies
May 12, 2022
The BAYC Universe: Expanding into Metaversal Economies
The Bored Ape Yacht Club (BAYC) project has dominated the NFT space since its launch in April 2021, being one of the most sought after collections to exist. But the iconic PFP NFTs are only the first chapter of the BAYC story, with the project now further embedding itself in the broader digital asset economy.
Read More ⟩
Review of the Month: April 2022
May 5, 2022
Review of the Month: April 2022
In April 2022, Hex Trust was featured on CoinDesk TV, entered a strategic partnership with Metamask Institutional and attended several panels, webinars & events.
Read More ⟩
The Sandbox: The Future of Gaming
April 25, 2022
The Sandbox: The Future of Gaming
The concepts of metaverse, GameFi and play-to-earn (P2E) have been key developments this past quarter, with companies such as The Sandbox leading the way in this sector of the digital asset economy.
Read More ⟩